Natalie In Panama – Week 75 – In Which She Comes Home

So, this week was kind of weird.

Monday was crazy, what with all the “you have to go home” stuff.

So, on Monday I left Colon at 8 am and then went to Panama. I was in Panama the rest of the day. I was with Hermana Curtis, who was also going home. We went to the office and waited for the President. We had lunch with President and his wife and then we had our interviews. Having an interview with the President was wonderful. It really helped me. He gave me some great advice and comfort. Best thing was that I got a blessing. That really helped me have courage. Just knowing that the Lord knows the struggles I will be facing and that he is at my side is a very comforting thing to know.

After that, we visited the Curtis family to say goodbye to them. That took a while, but that family was super sweet. We finally got to Breezes to sleep. We didn’t fall asleep until about 1-2 in the morning.

Tuesday, we got up at 4 am. The President picked us up at 5:40 am, and we went to the airport. It was really strange to say goodbye to the President. It still feels surreal. I can’t believe that I’m not in Panama.

I was on the plane for about 6 hours. I spent most of that writing in my journal, catching up from the week before.

I got to the airport about half an hour earlier than expected. Then, the way they do customs now for the Americans is different. It takes about five minutes. So, I got done with everything before Mom and Dad expected. I got out to the greeting area and no one was there. I had to find a payphone to call them. It turned out that they were about 10 minutes away. So, I waited outside. It was freezing. I can’t emphasize that enough.

So, being in shell-shock, I started crying a bit, when I saw the car. It was really weird and wonderful to see my family.

We went home, I got something to eat, and, in the evening, I got released. Contrary to all the gossip I heard, the Stake President did not take my name tag off. I really appreciate that because if he had, I would definitely have started crying. It was a lot easier to take it off myself later that night when I was more mentally prepared.

So, the rest of this week has been busy unpacking from the mission, and all my stuff from before the mission. I went through all my clothes and nothing fit, so I had to buy new clothes.

I’m working on painting the furniture to my room. Dad’s still working on the floor in my room, so currently I am in what was Michael’s room, until mine is done. It’s a bit like the movie the Return Missionary.

Then, today was my first Sunday at the singles ward. It was really weird. I felt like I was in a mix of the movie the Singles Ward and of the Return Missionary. It was strange. Bishop Bramwell is great though, and is already working on getting me a calling. Well, actually I asked him when I would be getting a calling. I would like to stay busy, and I know that a calling will help with that.

Oh, I also now have two activities for the week that are not your normal ward activities. I’m going to be doing a babysitting activity and going to the Temple for Sealings. It’ll be fun. I think I’ll go to the ward activities when I can drive myself. I have to wait for the insurance on that one.

So, I think this week will be more focused on getting a resume done and practicing driving a stick shift. The goal is that my resume is done by the end of the week so that I can start applying to jobs the next week. I know that if I do my part the Lord will bless me. So, I just got to do my part the best that I can.

Natalie

_______________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_______________________________________________________________

The Bishop, his family, and me

The Bishop, his family, and me

The Hermanas of the zone and me

The Hermanas of the zone and me

The Franco family and me

The Franco family and me

Hermana Noris and us

Hermana Noris and us

The Sanguillen Family and Us

The Sanguillen Family and Us

The President, his wife, and me

The President, his wife, and me

My room for this week and the pile of clothes I got rid of.

My room for this week and the pile of clothes I got rid of.

My beautiful tan line on my feet

My beautiful tan line on my feet

Share your thoughts!