Natalie In Panama – Week 73 – In Which She Visits Former Investigators And Prepares To Say Goodbye

So, Monday was nuts as usual. I went with Hermana Escobar to say goodbye to some of our areas. We first went to Arraijan for her. We were there for a couple hours. Then, we went to Chorrera for the two of us. We visited Barrio 1 and then, last of all, I visited the familia Ureña (the Urena family), which was my highlight. It was wonderful to see my first conversos (converts), and see that the Hermano is doing much better. He’s reading the Book of Mormon again and going to church. Truly the Book of Mormon does miracles. When he reads the Book of Mormon, he does so much better.

Tuesday we visited a bunch of less actives.

Wednesday we had capacitacion with Elder Duncan. It was really good. We thought we were going to be killed with words, but it turned out to be great. He gave us a lot of good ideas that we can use to work more efficiently. Truthfully he made me sad that I’m not going to be in the mission much longer. I wanted to see how things will change, but I know that my time is up. I have to come home and start on other things in my life. It’s really sad to think that, but there it is.

Thursday, we went and visited an awesome joven (youth) named Jesus, who is investigating the church for a second time. He stopped before because he didn’t feel he was ready to be baptized, and now he does.

Then, we ran around visiting more less actives. One thing we’re trying is picking a scripture of the day to share with the less actives. It was an idea from Elder Duncan. We can’t force less actives to be ready to come back to church, but we can help them increase their testimony by reading the Book of Mormon to them. So, that was what we did.

Friday, we visited Jesus again. Then, we found where some other less actives live. We have to visit 15 a week so, we’re always trying to find more. Plus, the ward has about 800 inactive members. So, there is a lot of work to do.

Saturday, we spent working on our activity. We made tortillas and filled them with cheese. I call it quesadilla, Ajxup calls it tortilla with cheese.

We did a little CCM (missionary training) for Cativa. We had the return missionaries teach the lessons. We taught Lessons, 1,2, and 3. How to invite a friend to activities, how to give your testimony, how to give a Book of Mormon, and how to identify the spirit and avoid contention.

Not as many members came as we wanted, but that’s okay. The members aren’t coming to activities, so that’s why we’re doing them.

Sunday, we did planning and had two investigators in church.

Today, we went to Veracruz. I went and said goodbye to everyone. We went to Hermana Flor first. Then, we saw the family Evans. I baptized the mom and she’s preparing to receive her endowments this next month. I am so proud of Damalia. She was crying when I left. Then, I went by the chapel and said goodbye to all the jovenes (youth). They all came running and yelling my name. I think the missionaries were confused as to who I am. I figure the youth can tell them.

Then we visited Anissa.

It was so nice to see all of them and see that they are progressing. I am very proud of them.

Now, it’s time for my last week. It’s going to be super hard to concentrate this week, but I will do my best.

I hope you all have a great week, and that my room is done when I come home.

Love you lots,

Hermana Palmer

_______________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_______________________________________________________________

Yanelis and me

Yanelis and me

Mari and me

Mari and me

The Almanza Family and Natalie

The Almanza Family and Natalie

Hermana Tatiana, her family, and me

Hermana Tatiana, her family, and me

The teachers of our missionary training with Cativa

The teachers of our missionary training with Cativa

The Urena family and me.

The Urena family and me.

The placards we made. Man did my hand hurt after writing these out.

The placards we made. Man did my hand hurt after writing these out.

Practices

Practices

Hermana Flor and Me

Hermana Flor and Me

The district of kids

The district of kids

Me and some of my jovenes (youth)

Me and some of my jovenes (youth)

Me and some of my jovenes (youth)

Me and some of my jovenes (youth)

The Evans Family

The Evans Family

________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama
AP 0834-02798
Panama, Republica de Panama

Share your thoughts!

