Natalie In Panama – Week 71 – In Which She Watches Many Friends Leave The Mission

So, this week, to be honest, was kinda hard emotionally. I was really struggling to keep myself focused on my work here. On Monday I went to Cinco de Mayo and ran into different Hermana’s that were going home. I also ran into some more at the internet in the terminal. It made me feel really strange. I feel sad to see my group go home, but I know that I am where I need to be. I truly feel I am supposed to be here.

On Tuesday was changes. We felt weird and sad to see Elder Juarez go home. He’ll do great there, but we’ll miss him as Zone Leader.

We taught Lizbeth about the word of Wisdom. It was great. She decided right then and there that she was going to stop drinking coffee. She hasn’t drunk it since. I am so happy for her.

She also ended up talking to us for a couple hours. We were helping her really get through the repentance process. She needed someone to just listen to her. I’m glad that we were able to help.

Wednesday, we got to know the new Zone Leader. He’s a gringo (caucasian), and is pretty cool. We visited inactives before dinner. We pointed out to them that they would receive more blessings from the Lord if they just tried to do what the Lord wanted. Sadly, they didn’t come to church on Sunday.

On Thursday, we had our Reunion de Districto. I’m a mom in the mission again! As my companion likes to tease me I have three children and four husbands according to missionary jargon. One of the Elders in my district is training for the first time, so I’m his kid’s mom. Also, my son from last change is in my district, and Ajxup, who’s my only daughter. Such a weird family tree.

My District leader is now an Elder from Mexico. Elder Ah Sue got called to be a Zone Leader in another zone. He’s going to do great as a Zone Leader.

We ended up not being able to work much, because my companion’s legs starting hurting her a ton. She’s been having pain in her legs all week, but it’s gotten worse. So, I took her home and made her rest.

Friday, we went and visited Lizbeth. We taught her about Fasting and Tithing. She’s great. She said afterward,”I’m going to fast on Sunday, because I can’t wait for the blessings of the lord.” I just love her and her family so much.

Friday was probably one of my hardest days emotionally, because it was the day I completed 18 months. My mind was kind of in shock all day. My comp can testify.

Saturday we went to the temple. It was great. We got there a bit late, but it was still nice. It’s just nice to be in the temple. It’s the most peaceful place I could ever be. We ended up coming home afterwards and resting, because my companion had a really bad headache.

Sunday was interesting. Church was great. Lizbeth came on her own with her kids. They’re getting baptized this Saturday.

After church, we had to help the Elders out who were in charge of Barriade Kuna. They came for the day, and were getting lost. At lunch, I got an odd compliment. Hermana Noris said that when a missionary comes that is almost finished, or dead, you can tell. I pointed out to her that technically I am almost finished. She told me that I’m a “muerto trabajadora.” (working dead.) It’s an awesome compliment.

We went out with a member and visited a new family of investigators. The mother didn’t want to pray to find out if these things are true because she’s afraid of what people will say if she changes. It’s sad how people don’t give it the option because of fear.

Then, we visited a less active. He has some problems. He thinks everyone in the world is out to get him. He thinks he needs to prove to everyone that he is powerful. He keeps thinking being meek, means having no backbone, which is not true. My companion was getting irritated because he made comments to me that were racist because I’m white. I told her that it didn’t matter to me, because his opinion doesn’t matter to me. He kept talking in a very loud voice and in a very angry manner. He kept thinking I was scared. I wasn’t scared, I just wanted him to stop talking that way. He truly didn’t want to hear anything.

I hope he can soften his heart and understand some day what it truly means to be a child of God. If you know what it means to be a child of God, you will be confident in yourself without having to prove it to anyone. He right now is very insecure, but doesn’t want to admit it. I hope he can change.

Well, that’s that week.

I hope you guys have a great week. I know mine will be awesome with some baptisms.

Love you lots,

Natalie

_______________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_______________________________________________________________

DSCN2922[1]________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama
AP 0834-02798
Panama, Republica de Panama

Share your thoughts!

