Natalie In Panama – Week 51 – In Which Her Knee Gets Swollen

9-1-14

Well, this week there will be no photos because I have a problem with my cord. One side got bent out of shape. I’ll see what I can do before next week.

Anyway for this week, none of this will really be in order, but that’s normal.

First thing that happened this week was that my knee swelled up and looked like a baseball. It was red and hot. So, I called the nurses. Now I am taking IB profin in large amounts, and putting ice on my knee 3 times a day for 20 minutes. I also have to wear my ace bandage when I’m out working. But, it is getting better. What happened is I kind of fell into a kneeling position to pray before we left one day. When we got back to the house, my knee was huge. Now my knee is still swollen, purple, but smaller. It’s not so pretty.

We had an awesome noche de hogar (Family Home Evening) this week. We had it with a family that fairly recently became active and we invited another menos activo that is becoming active again. Elder Taylor gave the lesson. He did a great job for having only about 2 weeks in the mission. Then, we played a game called cat and mouse. In it you have two ties. One you tie one time and the other two times. After you tie it, you pass it to the next person. The point is that the person who ends up with both ties is out. They liked it so much we played it twice.

We went and visited a recent convert, who is awesome. Sadly, though, we just changed the boundaries of our area again, and now she is in the Elder’s area. Anyway, she works for a super rich family, caring for the grandmother. So, she lives in Valley Escondido. It’s a super pretty valley and is filled with gorgeous mansions. It was kind of mind blowing.

The visit was great. She gave us dinner, and we got to share a message with her and her friends who were visiting.

So, then Sunday I gave a talk on the Sacrament. It went great. I was nervous, but my Spanish was actually good. Poor Pula had to translate it to English, and then Duron spoke after me, and he made me seem slow.

Sunday was awesome. We went to go to an appointment, but the person wasn’t there. So, we contacted her mother and sister who were actually references. The sister accepted a fecha (baptism date) right off the bat. It was amazing.

Then, we also found 2 menos actives (less actives). One was in the street and used the fact he’s raising an onion as an excuse not to go to church. With the other, we made an appointment to go back.

The reason all of this is so cool is that during the entire week we were trying to contact references. None of them were home. We ended up contacting, and finding positive people that way. Sunday was a milagro (miracle) that a reference was home, and that we found menos activos (less actives) we’d never met before.

Then, in the night we went to visit our neighbor, Juan. He’s been visited by tons of missionaries, but apparently none of them taught him the Resturation (Restoration). We taught it, and he said it made sense. He accepted a fecha (baptism date). In that lesson, we really felt the spirit. I was testifying that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God, and I truly felt it. It was a moment when it was reaffirmed to me that we have a living prophet today. It was amazing. We then had to tell the Bram family, because he’s a reference from them. The Hermana started jumping up and down from joy. It was awesome.

Anyway, I love you guys a ton. I’ll try to send photos next week, because we went on an awesome hike in Gualaca today. It was super pretty.

I hope things get better at home. I’ll keep praying for all of you.

Love,

Natalie.

________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama
AP 0834-02798
Panama, Repucblica de Panama.

Share your thoughts!

