Natalie In Panama – Week 50 – In Which She Goes To The Mountains Of Panama

8/25/14

So, this week was definitely not what I was expecting. I knew that changes were coming up, but I thought I wouldn’t have changes.

Monday, we did the final practice with the William Shakespeare School and then went shopping. I spent all my birthday money on new clothes. Woohoo!

Then, Tuesday, still nobody knew about changes. They had called no one. We did the activity with the William Shakespeare School, and it was great. Then, our Zone Leader’s called the assistants to find out about changes. They then proceeded to tell us all about our changes.

They then told me that I had changes. It was like having a glass of water thrown on me. I was not expecting it at all. I got sent to Boquete and am companions with  Pula, who was my companion in the CCM (Mexico City MTC).

So, I spent Tuesday madly running around saying goodbye to everyone. To be honest, I was really sad. There were some people I wanted to see baptized, but the Lord knows best. Then I was up to about 2 AM packing and writing notes for people. I don’t know where I got all this stuff I have, and I left stuff behind.

Then, Wednesday I left with Elder Santizo, who also got changed to David. I spent about 12 hours on buses – 2 hours from Chorrera to Albrook, then 6 hours to David, and then another 2 hours to get to Boquete.

By the way, Boquete is a tourist place. It’s way out in the interior and is cold. It’s around 60 degrees and rains a lot. I’m cold, but luckily have a couple sweaters. So, it’s a branch and is a mix of English and Spanish. Our house is tiny, but super nice and has hot water in the shower. Thank goodness or I’d be an icicle. I feel a bit like I’m in Utah. There are mountains all around and there are pine trees mixed in the jungle. It’s beautiful. The houses are spread out, so the area is huge.

It’s just a little hard, because I only got a normal amount of money from the church, and had to lend part of that to my companion because she didn’t get hers at all. Then I had to pay for the bus. So, right now, I’m using my personal money. So, Mom, if you could send me some more money, that would help me a lot.

Anyway, the area is great. We’ve been busy this week splitting the area, with the new elders that are opening an area here in Boquete. We’ve got Duron, who’s dying (finishing his mission), and Taylor whose being trained. It’s pretty awesome.

Next week should be more organized in my email. I hope you guys have a great week!

Love,

Natalie

_____________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_____________________________________________________________

Leaving Chorerra

Alicia and her siblings, whom I was teaching.

Alicia and her siblings, whom I was teaching.

Hermana Sixta and me

Hermana Sixta and me

Hermana Brandareis, me, with her cat and dog.

Hermana Brandareis, me, with her cat and dog.

Hermano Virgilio, who I was teaching

Hermano Virgilio, who I was teaching

Me, Louis, Elias and Andres, some other youth that I was teaching.

Me, Louis, Elias and Andres, some other youth that I was teaching.

Irlanda and me

Irlanda and me

And Now For Boquete

Boquete

Boquete

Boquete

Boquete

Pula and me

Pula and me

Us cooking marshmallows over a candle

Us cooking marshmallows over a candle

Elder Taylor nose kissing a fish

Elder Taylor nose kissing a fish

Pula making refried beans

Pula making refried beans

Elder Duron and Hermana Mills making tortillas

Elder Duron and Hermana Mills making tortillas

________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama
AP 0834-02798
Panama, Repucblica de Panama.

Share your thoughts!

