Natalie In Panama – Week 44 – In Which She Has A Birthday (And A Lot Of Cake)

As you can see from the title, that this week was changes and it was my birthday.

We didn’t find out till Monday night who had changes. For some reason changes took a long time to get sorted so the ZL’s had to call us at night to tell us about changes.

Ogles got sent to the interior, which was a dream come true for her. She’s super happy where she’s at.

I got a Latina companion, Hermana Hernandez. I know her from before. She is another returnee to chorrera. She’s awesome.

We’ve worked hard this week. We really worked on visiting our menos activos (less actives). I really want to work on getting them back to church. We also made our goals for this change. We decided we want to go for 6 baptisms this change. I may be crazy, but I think it’s possible. We also started working on how we could help get our ward more animated. We want to make the ward stronger and more united. I think if we’re animated, then they’ll be animated as well.

We had some great spiritual experiences this week. We had 2 lessons that we weren’t sure what we were going to teach, but we went with the spirit. We managed to somehow touch the heart of the problem for these hermanas. It was amazing. One of them was my last appointment on my birthday and in the lesson the spirit was super strong. I could feel the spirit filling me up as I promised the hermana blessings from paying her tithing. Normally the spirit is not that strong, but in that lesson I was dead certain on the promises that I was telling her.

We truly have power as missionaries if we are doing all the right things. The promises we tell people are real. I have no doubt of that. I never realized before how much authority I have been lent while here in the mission. I think that lesson was my favorite moment of my birthday. It was wonderful to truly be able to help someone.

Now on to …MY BIRTHDAY!

I woke up, and Hernandez had covered my bed in birthday streamer that Ogles had left with a note for her to use on my birthday. She also bought me chocolate and made me breakfast.

We ate 2 pieces of carrot cake in the house. I had bought them earlier in the week. Then at lunch, Hermana Janelis had made a cake for me. She made a carrot and avena(oats) cake. It was super good. It was a slightly healthier cake, because she knows I try to watch what I eat. It was delicious.

Then another family gave us cake. The family Serrano had bought me a green cake for my birthday.

Oh, Hernandez also straightened my hair for my b-day.

Then, on Sunday, the Bishop announced my birthday. His wife made and gave me a bracelet. The family Almanza also gave me a chocolate cake.

My birthday was great, and still isn’t done.

Oh, also I have two investigators progressing, that we’re at church. Yeah!

I love you all a tom!

Love,

Natalie

_____________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_____________________________________________________________

My birthday!

My birthday!

My birthday!

My birthday!

My birthday!

My birthday!\

Hernandez eating the left over sauce on the cake. She doesn´t eat a ton of food, but give her a sweet sauce and she is all over that.

Hernandez eating the left over sauce on the cake.

Hernandez eating the left over sauce on the cake. She doesn´t eat a ton of food, but give her a sweet sauce and she is all over that.

She doesn´t eat a ton of food, but give her a sweet sauce and she is all over that.

Hermana Janelis and me with the cake she made me.

Hermana Janelis and me with the cake she made me.

More of my birthday!

More of my birthday!

The family Serrano

The family Serrano

The green cake from the family Serrano

The green cake from the family Serrano

The chocolate cake from the family Almanza.

The chocolate cake from the family Almanza.

________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama

Carrasquilla Entrega General 0834

Panama

Republica def Panama

 

One thought on “Natalie In Panama – Week 44 – In Which She Has A Birthday (And A Lot Of Cake)

  1. Dear Natalie, your Grandfather and I enjoy your letters and also the pictures that you send. It sounds as if you are enjoying your mission and getting the most out of it. I think your attitude is wonderful and you will have fond memories for the rest of your life. We wish you would send us some of the moisture and rain from your area since you have so much of it and California is in dire need of it. Alexis is a big help to Debra since Debra had her knee operated on and they are getting along very well. I think it is very good for the two of them to get to know each other so well. Grandfather has enjoyed picking up Alexis for church each Sunday and either I or him take her back to Debra’s. Rob has arranged this coming Friday for us to have a tour of the Long Beach Airport. It has been remodeled and I understand it is very nice inside. Your Mother is coming down Saturday to pick up Alexis and take her back home. The other day we were at Costco eating lunch on the outside and we happened to see two missionaries eating their lunch, Grandmother stopped and asked them where they were from and one was from Oregon, not far from where Grandmother was born and the other was from Indonesia. The one from Oregon had been out for a year and the other one from Indonesia was out for only a month. Grandmother gave them each five dollars toward their lunch. We hope that you continue to find success in doing Heavenly Father’s work. Love from Grandmother and Grandfather “B”

Share your thoughts!

