Natalie In Panama – Week 37 – In Which She Gives A Talk

Okay, I really just wanted to put an epic looking title. I don’t really have anything that epic.

So, this week was a little hard. We started out the week, basically having to start from scratch. None of our investigators were really progressing, so we had to let go of some of them. It’s always sad when we have to do that.

So, what we did is that we took a directory list for the ward and just started looking for members. We were trying to find out if they had moved or died or what had happened to them. Looking for inactives really works to find investigators. First, we went to members to ask about the people, but some of the names they didn’t know anything about. So, then we got to go out and go searching. We asked people in the street, and got to contact and teach people that way.

Tuesday, it was pouring the entire day. We were trying to figure out what to do that day, because everything we had planned fell through. We ended up contacting, and some of them were really positive. We got soaked, though, and on Thursday we had to stay home because I had a cold. I slept two hours straight and it amazed my companion, because that is not normal for me.

Friday, we had a really nice Family Home Evening with some of our recent converts. We watched the Restoration film with them. It was really fun.

Saturday, we went and visited one of the people we taught on Wednesday and her daughter was there. It was a really interesting lesson. The daughter had a ton of questions. I was really grateful that I have read the Bible the whole way through once and Jesus the Christ. I knew the answers. The Lord truly does give you the answer if you have studied. That lesson kept me on my toes, but the thing is those questions were great. The woman was just trying to make sure she understood everything well. I have a lot of hope for her.

Sunday, I had to give my first talk here in panama. I talked about being willing to follow the will of the Lord. I talked about how we have to have a testimony, the desire and to listen to the Holy Ghost.

The talk seemed to go well. I made sure to speak slowly, so that everyone could understand me. I know my accent is fairly strong in Spanish.

The members were really sweet and told me that, yes, they understood what I had said. The Relief Society Presidents daughter drew me giving my talk. It was super cute.

Then Olges got to teach Relief Society. We talked about how everybody needs a friend. Not so much about visiting teaching, just that everyone needs a friend.

After church was great. We went to a birthday party for one of our youth and then went and visited people who hadn’t come to church. We now have a noche de hogar (Family Home Evening) planned for Thursday. It’s going to be a ton of fun.

So, that’s the week, and I still have no idea on changes. You guys will find out next week.

Love you lots.

Natalie

_____________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_____________________________________________________________

Relief Society Presidents daughter and me. She drew me giving my talk.

Relief Society Presidents daughter and me. She drew me giving my talk.

Photos of the rain here in Panama.

The rain here in Panama

Photos from a small birthday party we went to for lunch. We took photos afterwards because of changes. i included the one where I am looking at the dog, just to show you guys that I am still the same. I still pet the members dogs.

Photos from a small birthday party we went to for lunch. We took photos afterwards because of changes.

Photos from a small birthday party we went to for lunch. We took photos afterwards because of changes. i included the one where I am looking at the dog, just to show you guys that I am still the same. I still pet the members dogs.

I included this picture where I am looking at the dog, just to show you guys that I am still the same. I still pet the members dogs.

________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama

Carrasquilla Entrega General 0834

Panama

Republica def Panama

Share your thoughts!