Natalie In Panama – Week 33 – In Which Her Companion Has A Birthday

Hi, Everybody!

So, this was week was pretty fun. We have some really good investigators.

But, the main subject of this week was definitely Hermana Ogles birthday.

So, we have some new investigators called Juan and Dian. Their mom is a menos active (less active), who a member found and told us about. We went to visit her and she was baptized when she was 16 and doesn’t remember a ton. So, we’re kind of teaching her and her children. The lord definitely wants us here for them. The mom, Sugais, wants her family to be more united and her son to be better. Her son, Juan really wants to change his life. He’s 15. They’re all reading the book of Mormon now, and Juan and Dian came to church with their little brother Fidel. Their mom couldn’t come because of her husband’s work, but she will come when his schedule changes.

Also, Sunday morning we went with the Bishop to the family’s house. Sugais had told us that some really bad stuff had happened in this house before she owned it and that ever since anyone who has lived there had had their family separated. The bishop came out before his meetings in church to give a blessing on the house. He was fantastic. He ended up talking to them first and basically doing family counseling. He talked to the children about why they should help their mom and had them think about how much she does for them. He got them all to promise to help their mom. Then, when we were about to leave he had Sugais give the last prayer and she started crying. She was talking about how she feels at times that she can’t keep going and doing everything. So, the Bishop immediately got up and then gave her a blessing. It was a wonderful moment. This family is really special. I will be so happy to see Dian and Juan baptized.

So, this email is going to be all about Sunday really.

In the afternoon, we had three different houses to go to celebrate Ogles birthday. In Relief Society they sang to everyone that had a birthday in the last 3 months. Then, they gave everyone a piece of cake. We went to a family of recent converts afterwards for a chow mein lunch and cake. Then we went to another family for cake and ice-cream. And then at dinner we had cake and ice-cream afterwards too. I felt so sick by the end of the day. I had everyone give me small portions. Truth be told I am having stomach problems here because they feed me a ton and I don’t eat a ton anymore. I eat small portions now, and so every night I’ve been coming home and doing exercises to try and help with that, but the last three days I’ve felt really sick. I’m going to have to talk to all the members very clearly about my portions. I know I’m tall but I don’t eat like I’m huge anymore.

Anyway, Ogles really enjoyed her birthday and all the cake. She ate a ton!

Then when we got home there were two HUGE spiders in the house that I had to kill. Not fun.

So, that’s this week.

Mother’s day is the 11th, right? So, I was thinking of calling Saturday, because if I do Sunday it’ll be hard to find another member with a computer I can use. I’ll probably try to use it in the night, so I hope that’s okay with you guys. If not, I need you to write me.

Glad that everything is working out and going great for you guys. Love you all a TON!

Hermana Natalie Palmer

_____________________________________________________________

And Now For Pictures!

_____________________________________________________________

The Happy Birthday sign I made for Ogles

The Happy Birthday sign I made for Ogles

The Relief Society singing to everybody who had a birthday in the last 3 months.

The Relief Society singing to everybody who had a birthday in the last 3 months.

One of the two huge spiders I found in the house last night and had to kill.

One of the two huge spiders I found in the house last night and had to kill.

The other huge spider I found in the house last night and had to kill.

The other huge spider I found in the house last night and had to kill.

A dessert called cocada. It's made from coconut, honey and cashews and is super yummy.

A dessert called cocada. It’s made from coconut, honey and cashews and is super yummy.

Here`s a photo of me being really excited for having water.

Here’s a photo of me being really excited for having water.

A family of Recent Converts that Ogles celebrated her birthday with.

A family of Recent Converts that Ogles celebrated her birthday with.

________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama

Carrasquilla Entrega General 0834

Panama

Republica def Panama

Share your thoughts!

