Natalie In Panama – Week 31 – In Which She Bobs For Apples And Baptisms

Happy Birthday to Aunt Deb!

First things first. I HAVE CHANGES!!! As you can tell I might be a little excited. It’s not that I don’t like Veracruz or my companion. I can just tell that my work is done here. I had a kind of panic attack of being here for a forth change on Tuesday.

Luckily Vroom is wonderful and completely understood. She felt that way in a different area. Through different things, I got myself to the point that I was okay with being in Veracruz for a 4th change. Not thrilled, but okay. Then, today, we got the call and I’m the only one in the house who has changes. The Lord truly knows how I am and that I would not have been able to give 110% with another change in Veracruz. I can’t stop smiling today. I am going to be very sad to leave some of the people. I absolutely love some of my members, and I will definitely miss them, but that´s just part of the work.

Okay, as for the week.

Monday we had a great activity for the zone. It was a lot of fun. We did bobbing for apples and a couple of other games and ate hamburgers. It’s just fun hanging out with a good zone.

Tuesday we had divisions with the zetta ellas (Zone Leaders). They called us the night before. Vroom went to the Hermana’s area and Hermana Ramirez came out to Veracruz. It was a lot of fun. Hermana Ramirez is super sweet. We actually spent most of the day visiting menos activos. It really me to talk to Hermana Ramirez because she had been in an area in Chorrera for 5 changes (over six months). She told me that she wasn’t happy to get the 5th change, but found that she was really able to help her companion. That really helped me because I was in that freaking out stage about having 4 changes in Veracruz. It helped me to just accept that if that was the Lord’s will, then there would be a good reason for it.

Wednesday we placed two new fechas (baptism dates) with some teenagers. I hope they can progress. They don’t understand how much it will help their lives.

Thursday we went out and worked really hard on visiting menos activos (less actives). Hopefully some of them will become active.

Friday we spent a good portion of the day in the house because I had a nasty cold. I slept for about 4-6 extra hours this day, but in the afternoon around 4 I was able to actually go out and work. One of our youth who is preparing to go on a mission came out with us.

In the evening we had a lesson where our District Leaders came to help us out. It went really well. It was with our two new fechas. Their grandmother came out and started talking about how she wants to change her life and be closer to God. So, I invited her to be baptized explaining that it is a perfect way to restart your life. I didn’t feel overwhelming spirit when I was doing it, but I felt it more as a steadying feeling. It was as if the spirit was just there to back me up and more like I could feel it coming from me than in the surroundings. It was an interesting experience. She said yes to the fecha, but we’ll see if she really wants to change her life.

Saturday was a baptism for the other Hermanas. It was really great to see it. We got two of our investigators to come. Then we went and visited a ton of Menos activos. We also got some new investigators and that was awesome. I had randomly studied a phrase in my Spanish study and that helped us contact a couple, who seem fairly positive. It was a cool experience.

Sunday was a little sad for me. None of our investigators or menos activos we visited came to church. I was feeling really depressed by that and then some of our members decided that testimony meeting means that they should give a talk. Testimonies should definitely be short. I ended up getting up and telling them what I wished someone would say to me. I just followed the spirit and told them that the Lord loves them and that they should never give up hope. It was really what I needed to hear, but I hope it helped them. I ended Sunday on a better note than I started, so that’s good.

So, that’s my week!

Thanks to everybody that writes me, it means a lot.

Love you lots

Hermana Natalie Palmer


And Now For Pictures!


Here's a photo for the plaque in first ward. I hope it works.

Here’s a photo for the plaque in first ward. I hope it works.

Bobbing for apples

Bobbing for apples

A photos from last p-day. I was doing bobbing for apples in a team.  We didn't win, but I got the first apple of everybody.

A photos from last p-day. I was doing bobbing for apples in a team. We didn’t win, but I got the first apple of everybody.

The Hermanas cooking peppitas de marañon, or in English, cashews.

The Hermanas cooking peppitas de marañon, or in English, cashews.

Vroom burning a shirt for her one year. We decided since we were cooking the cashews we should burn the shirt too.

Vroom burning a shirt for her one year. We decided since we were cooking the cashews we should burn the shirt too.

May, Idily, and Rachel decided to try and pick me up. They`re slightly smaller than Alexis is. Luckily I`m down to 192 lbs so the three of them actually picked me up.

May, Idily, and Rachel decided to try and pick me up. They`re slightly smaller than Alexis is. Luckily I`m down to 192 lbs so the three of them actually picked me up.


E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama

Carrasquilla Entrega General 0834

Share your thoughts!

