Natalie In Panama – Week 16

natalie 1

Hi everybody!

It was great talking to you all on Christmas. Sorry, that it was at a completely different time than what I said. That’s part of the problem being in Panama and a missionary. You never have anything for sure except the meetings with the president.

I got the packet today. Alvarado called the office today and they said they had it and we could come pick it up, since it’s in our zone. So, that was what we did. I haven’t opened it yet, because I’m in the city still, and would rather open it in the house. But I am really excited.

Well, this week after Christmas we got a lot more work done.

We had a meeting for the sisters in our zone the day after Christmas, we forgot about it and then got there late, after we remembered. They started late, so it didn’t really matter.

The meeting was about needing to be obedient. We need to be doing some sort of study everyday and following the rules to the best of our ability. For me it really hit home. These last couple of weeks we haven´t done a ton of work. We’ve had meetings and then we go home. This week I decided I had to encourage daily planning, and it has helped a lot. The next couple weeks are going to be great.

We have a new Fecha (baptism date). It’s the mother of one of our members. She didn’t talk to the missionaries before I got here and my first day she invited us in and talked with us. This week we went to visit them and she wanted to be baptized. We have a date for the 10th of January. It’s cool because she came to us. We hardly did anything for this fecha. It’s definitely the Lord’s work and not ours.

One of our other investigators actually came to church. She hasn’t before this, and she did miss sacrament meeting, but still it’s progress. I have hope that next week she will go to Sacrament meeting. There are a lot of things she has to change in her life, but if she can start going to church, I´m sure she will start to have the change of heart that comes from really knowing that we are children of God and that he loves us.

That’s my working news for the week.

Oh, I was going to tell you guys about the food Anissa cooked us for Christmas. We had ham (chicken for me), green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, salad and tons of desert. She cooked brownies, sugar cookies, fudge, apple pie, pound cake, banana cream pie and cherry cheese cake. I didn’t eat everything because I didn’t have space, but it was really good.

After that we went to two other houses and they fed us too. We were all stuffed and more. The others were all sick the next day. I wasn’t , but I’m going to really cut back on the soda. I’m finding that if I drink soda I start to have pain in my stomach somewhat. I think it’s the carbonation, because most of what I eat here doesn’t have much seasoning, or is fried. My diet is simple, and for some reason the soda makes me feel sick if I drink too much of it. So, my goal is only soda on Mondays, because it’s p-day or any day we have to eat out because of a meeting.

Sorry this email has been kind of rambly and more goal oriented. It’s to help all of you prepare for your New Years goals (right?).

Anyways, I loved Christmas and talking to all of you. I hope you can use those amazing ghetto phrases I taught you. I emailed them to Michael if you want to write them here.

I hope all of you enjoy your New Year!

Love you a lot

Natalie

Natalie’s New Favorite Words:

Rakataka

__________________________________________________________________

E-mail Hermana Natalie Palmer directly at natalie.palmer@myldsmail.net

Even a short, encouraging e-mail would be great!

If you would like to write to Hermana Palmer, here’s the mission mailing address:

Mision Panama

Carrasquilla Entrega General 0834

Panama

Republica def Panama

One thought on “Natalie In Panama – Week 16

  1. Thank you very much for following the blog, I really look forward to reading your posts and happy new year 2014. Gede Prama 🙂

Share your thoughts!

